w00t! 36+ mpg wagon! | Page 2 | Ford Escort Owners Association (FEOA)
  1. Wash your hands and do not touch your face, keep it safe and clean. Long live Feoa!

w00t! 36+ mpg wagon!

Discussion in '2nd Gen 1991-1996 1.9L SOHC' started by LowriderS10, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. NorthCoastEscort

    NorthCoastEscort New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought my LX for a commuter. I do mostly two lane hwy driving so no express ways. I have yet to get it on the road but I expect to get 40+ consistanly. I also hyper mile and I know in my current aspire it can change my milage from 32 mpg to 36 just by the driving style. I still have to get it put together but I will keep you posted. I would like to se section on to share MPG tips.
  2. denisond3

    denisond3 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,237
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Trophy Points:
    563
    Location:
    south TX or northern VA
    The PCM makes decisions based on inputs from sensors - and all of the sensors (except the CPS) probably have some manufacturing tolerance to their output. I wonder how those minor differences affect the MPG? Your driving style, the terrain, the number of times you have to use the brakes or stop certainly make a big difference. And we all know about the beneficial effects of a recent 3 angle valve job, new plugs & wires, clean air filter and throttle body, fully inflated tires, etc.
    It might be nice if you could fiddle around with the sensors, choosing ones that cause the engine to run the best or most consistently. I guess thats why megasquirters exist.

    There was a poster who reported as high as 47 mpg. He talked about having fender skirts over the rear wheels, and tried an air scoop under the front bumper, and doing 'pulse & glide' driving (whatever that amounts to).
    I know that if you want best speed/performance in an airplane you close up as many of the seams as you can - such as using tape to cover up the gaps around the doors, windows, etc.
  3. Intuit

    Intuit FEOA Member

    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    949
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Southwest Ohio
    If all you're driving is small... make that tiny trips, then your mileage should be HORRIBLE.
  4. Intuit

    Intuit FEOA Member

    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    949
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Southwest Ohio
    It seems that would decrease mileage. The only purpose for low-to-the-ground air scoops is to increase vehicle down-force at high speeds. This helps keep air from getting underneath (just think speed-boat crashes) allowing for higher top-speeds. Increased down-force is for sticking to the road, allowing for higher speed cornering.

    Well, maybe not. Suppose it's all in how it's designed. If it keeps air out of the radiator then I suppose it could make a minute difference in drag for daily-driver vehicles.
  5. Setnev

    Setnev FEOA Member

    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Seriously????

    My post was an /exageration

    Please! You think Scottsdale PD is gonna let me get away driving that fast?
  6. the1nicko

    the1nicko New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am only getting 22mpg with no CEL, brand new air filter, coil, plugs, wires, o2 sensor, fuel filter, and no vacuum leaks. I am not sure what to do.
  7. juggalo

    juggalo New Member

    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    ^^try cleaning the maf, check the resistance of the ect, and changing the fluids.
  8. the1nicko

    the1nicko New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like the tranny fluid and filter? I just changed the head on it with a reman, so the oil and coolant is fresh. I also got 13" wheels on her. Could a bad IAC cause bad gas mileage? I am also not sure if this could effect gas mileage but my temp gauge doesnt work, I just changed all the coolant temp sensors and checked the grounds, I am not sure how to fix that either.
  9. juggalo

    juggalo New Member

    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    if ur temp gauge isn't workin, of corse ur gonna get 22mpg cuz the ecu isn't comin out of warm up mode.
  10. the1nicko

    the1nicko New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i make it work?

    Does the temp switch wire go to the computer or just to the gauge? Could my gauge just be bad?
  11. juggalo

    juggalo New Member

    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    using a volt/ohmmeter with jumperwires, u need to make sure there's voltage goin to the sensors on the thermostat housing and the resistance of the sensors r at their specs. u should also check the thermostat by puttin it in boiling water with a thermometer so u can verify at what temp it opens or even if it does open.
  12. the1nicko

    the1nicko New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the tstat is also brand new. Does the temp sender actually go to the computer or does the wire just go to the gauge? Is it possible my gauge could be bad?
  13. juggalo

    juggalo New Member

    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    i believe the temp sender goes to the ecu then the gauge. i don't think gauges go bad.
  14. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,924
    Likes Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    There are two temp sensors (three in some cases). One is for the gauge and one is for the computer. It is possible that your gauge is just bad. The best thing you can do is make sure the metal piece the sensors are screwed into is grounded well. If in doubt you can run a wire directly from where it bolts to the engine to the negative battery terminal or a ground point on the frame.

    Make sure your plugs are gaped properly and also look for a dragging brake. Both can kill your mileage.
  15. the1nicko

    the1nicko New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm ive been looking through my haynes book and can only find a pin that goes to the coolant temp sensor. In my all data it says to check the voltage at the cluster and if there is no voltage to replace the gauge.
  16. juggalo

    juggalo New Member

    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    what matt said.
  17. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,924
    Likes Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    Another way to check the gauge is to unplug the single wire temp sensor and attach the wire to ground. If you do this the gauge should go all the way to hot.
  18. the1nicko

    the1nicko New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok sweet thanks matt. I do have the 3 sensors. What happened was I was changing my starter and bumped the coolant temp sensor and it broke. So I changed it. After that my gauge stopped working. So I changed the temp sending unit, but still didnt work. I checked the sensor grounds and they are good, I am going to try what you said and see if the gauge is working.

    going back to the gas mileage I changed the plugs but I dont remember if I gapped them correctly, thinking back I think I installed them and then remembered I forgot to check the gap and just left them, so I am going to swap them out friday.
  19. FordMan59

    FordMan59 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    446
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    Russellville, Kentucky
    If it's just the guage it wouldn't affect mileage, but if the car is not coming up to the correct operating temperature or the sensor that sends the signal to the ECU is bad, telling the ECU that the car is only running at 100* then the car is running in open loop all the time dumping excess fuel to the engine.
  20. yournamehere

    yournamehere New Member

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Haverhill, MA
    ^^^

    Now that's it's mentioned, my temp gauge only goes up about 3/8" past the cold line.

    My heat has been fine and the car seemed to run fine so I just left it as is.

    Is that the normal spot for the needle when the car is up to temp? If not, what would it be? just a tstat i assume?

Share This Page