FEOA Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Super Moderator
8,139 Posts
i have never used one of those before. funny thing is every system i can calculate in it i have wired better then ti recommends. mainly i always go bigger then i feel is needed.

NEUMAN

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yea you should always use bigger power and ground wires but I like for the fuse ratings and that it tells approximately how much current you will draw at max power.

·
Super Moderator
8,139 Posts
wbarnes570 said:
Yea you should always use bigger power and ground wires but I like for the fuse ratings and that it tells approximately how much current you will draw at max power.
that is nice no doubt. i commonly the same size as the fuse on the amp. that way it pops that fuse before the amp in alot of installs fuses liek that are easier then the amp fuse.

i book marked the site.

NEUMAN

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
yea but what if you are running two or more amps off of one power wire with a distribution box, would u just add all the fuses together? Also what if the amp has more than one fuse, say two 25 amp fuses, would you use a 50 or a 25?

·
Super Moderator
8,139 Posts
from what i have heard and i could have been misinformed but....

if you have 3 - 30amp fuses it is 30 + 15 + 7.5 = 52.5 amps. so a 50 amp fuse in the dist block should be good enough.

so 2 - 25's would be 37.5 amps.

about 75% of the amps i have installed never had internal fuses. i used to use alot of older fosgate and kicker stuff. so i just looked in the owners manual as to which fuse was reccomended and put that in the dist block.

NEUMAN

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·