FEOA Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,675 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting kind of tired of the drone of the straight through magnaflow, so I am looking at getting a turbo style or some other sort of quieter muffler. Just looking for suggestions for what styles and brands to look at. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
550 Posts
what kind of exhaust do you have??? is it header and cat back? if so buy a glass pack, (cherry bomb), one of those long red tubes...I had purchased a pacesetter cat back and it was just too damn loud...so i put a glasspack in to act as a resonator to cancel out some of the noise...I have a flowmaster muffler on backorder cause i absolutley hate those chrome fart cannons...i ordered it from summit its a 50 series delta flow muffler...im curious as to how it will sound, i paid $100 for it plus shipping, but i wont see it til about the 16th...so we'll see....cant be worse the the pacesetter muffler im sure....

anomalous

·
Registered
2,709 Posts
I have some sortof turbo 2.25" muffler on my sis's festiva. I was really big. Probably about 24" long and about 11" wide. But the ride is extremely quiet. All you can hear is the wind streaming across the body of the car and the wheels rolling on the pavement :)

Go big and you can't go wrong. Of course, it shouldn't also be straight-through.

·
Premium Member
1,675 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Right now I am running a pacesetter header, full 2.25" pipe, magnaflow 2.25" high flow cat, 2.25" flex pipe, and 2.25" magnaflow street series straight-through muffler. I didn't even think about putting a glasspack/resonator on there, I will have to look and see how much room I have for something like that. I don't really like the sound of flowmasters on a 4 cyl so I am staying away from them.

·
Premium Member
550 Posts