Electrical - No sound from rear speakers *SOLVED* | Ford Escort Owners Association (FEOA)
  1. Wash your hands and do not touch your face, keep it safe and clean. Long live Feoa!

Electrical No sound from rear speakers *SOLVED*

Discussion in 'ZX2 1998-2004 2.0L DOHC' started by JobeaQuartz, Jan 17, 2020.

  1. JobeaQuartz

    JobeaQuartz FEOA Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ever since I replaced my front speakers, my rear speakers have stopped producing sound, I have since replaced my receiver with an aftermarket one, and changed my rear speakers. Any ideas?
  2. Valdres Rose

    Valdres Rose FEOA Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota
    Your new speakers might not have the right impedance match for the rear speakers. Consider that your front speakers might be drawing a lot of power from the output device, there might not be enough power to drive the rear speakers. Also, be sure you have good wire connections, ground wires can be a real problem if they are loose or have bad connection.
    zzyzzx likes this.
  3. Intuit

    Intuit FEOA Member

    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    951
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Southwest Ohio
    Valdres may have a point. The front may be *much* louder (lower resistance) than the rear. To test, use your front/rear balance function on the radio, to shift all of the sound to the rear. Still not getting anything then there's something else going on. Get a "D" cell battery, pull out the head unit. Disconnect the harness in the rear from the head unit. Without shishkabobing your finger tips, run a straight-pin (or safety pin) through the positive and negative wires feeding the rear speakers. Now use wires to connect the D-Cell battery's positive terminal to the positive wire, and the negative to the negative. You should see the corresponding rear speaker shift its cone outward. Obviously you can't be in two places at once and you might not have an assistant. Just position your phone to record the rear and play it back. (that's what I did when checking my tail lights) If you're not getting any cone movement then either the user is in error, or the wiring and/or speaker is bad.
  4. JobeaQuartz

    JobeaQuartz FEOA Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    okay so I actually had to remove one of my front speakers, there is still nothing going to either of the rears, I got a new head unit and resoldered everything, double checked the wiring and they're still not working, I'm starting to thinking something might've gotten unplugged? I saw a plug-in by the driver-side in the trunk, but it was unplugged, I'll get pictures tommorow of what I'm talking about
  5. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,929
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    Your car probably has premium sound. You need either the bypass harness that goes where the amp is under the seat or to run new wires to the rear speakers. There was also a DIY bypass you could do but the pictures of it are long gone unless someone here has them saved.
  6. JobeaQuartz

    JobeaQuartz FEOA Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It does have premium sound, but I saw that there was a place for the original sound harness to plug into, so I plugged it into there, front speakers worked, but rear didn't.
  7. pextor

    pextor Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    858
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Lancaster, pa
    You need a bypass harness. I think I still have one sitting around, let me check.
  8. novanutcase

    novanutcase FEOA Member

    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    639
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Solution with a different tangent.....

    Have you checked your speaker settings on your new HU? I spent 2 weeks pouring over my HU owners manual trying to figure out why the rear speakers, that worked beautifully upon initial install, decided to stop working after a few days.

    I had accidentally hit "yes" in one of the menus not knowing that it would turn off the rear speaker channel. I discovered this when I had gotten so frustrated that I decided I would forego all the initial programming I had done on the HU and reboot it back to factory settings. DING! Rear speakers worked again!

    John
  9. pextor

    pextor Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    858
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Lancaster, pa
    In a ZX2 with premium sound, the rear speakers are amplified through an amplifier under the (driver?) seat. When you put in an aftermarket stereo, you pull out the plugs and they seem to match up to the wires from your new aftermarket stereo. But, no sound comes from the rear speakers. There was a small bypass connector plugged into one of those plugs, and you didn't think anything of it when you unplugged it. That bypass plug enabled the amp for the factory stereo. When you put the aftermarket stereo in, you need to bypass the amplifier, and that's where my bypass plugs come in to play.
  10. JobeaQuartz

    JobeaQuartz FEOA Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    bypass plugs?
  11. JobeaQuartz

    JobeaQuartz FEOA Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    is this what you're talking about? it's a metra 70-5720
    15807783588932489853209198259179.jpg
  12. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,929
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    Nope. It's a long, thick, harness designed to reach from the new radio to down under the drivers seat where the factory amp is.
  13. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,929
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    It officially comes with Metra 99-5720LDC which I think is discontinued but still available from some retailers. 70-5605 looks like it's probably the same harness but it isn't listed as fitting the ZX2. If you do use a bypass harness then you will have to put the OEM loop connector (can't think of a better word for it) that was originally in the plug where you plugged your "original sound" harness into, back in place or I assume that the front speakers won't work.
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2020
  14. pextor

    pextor Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    858
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Lancaster, pa
    The bypass that I have is just small jumpers. You remove the amp under the drivers seat and plug these in the harness where the amp was.
  15. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,929
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    Oh, doing it that way. I would have suggested it but I couldn't find the picture of how to do it since teamzx2 went down.
  16. pextor

    pextor Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    858
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Lancaster, pa
    Yeah, I don't remember either. It's been a couple years since I did it.
  17. novanutcase

    novanutcase FEOA Member

    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    639
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Hit up Darrel Tolentino on the ZX2 page on Facebook. He has the bypass jumpers.

    John
    4cylinder likes this.
  18. JobeaQuartz

    JobeaQuartz FEOA Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    i don't have Facebook, but does metra 70-5514 work? it plugs into one of the wires of the amp, but not the other
  19. JobeaQuartz

    JobeaQuartz FEOA Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    this is what I got 15818008438148887850381464796626.jpg
  20. pextor

    pextor Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    858
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Lancaster, pa
    did you do the shrink wrap job or did it come that way?

Share This Page