installing a aftermarket tach? | Ford Escort Owners Association (FEOA)

installing a aftermarket tach?

Discussion in '3rd Gen 1997-2002 2.0L SOHC' started by Chad Gregoire, May 1, 2015.

  1. Chad Gregoire

    Chad Gregoire FEOA Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I tried doing a search but didn't find much. I have a 1999 Escort SE Automatic and a tach would really come in handy for trying to sort out my transmission shifting issues. Thanks!
  2. Chad Gregoire

    Chad Gregoire FEOA Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I tried looking on car-part.com to find a "instrument cluster" in Maine for my car, but can't seem to find any. Plus I have no idea if the one i'd go pick up would be the same as I have now with no tach...
  3. DrewsBrews

    DrewsBrews FEOA Donator

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    SW Ohio
    would need to know if it came from a manual trans car as I'm fairly certain they were the ones that came with tachs. Also the zx2 has a different cluster shape than the sedan/wagon.

    For an aftermarket gauge you would look at the instructions for the gauge as to how to install. Likely tap off of, or wrap a wire around, one of the spark plug wires, then run it through one of the firewall grommets and up to the tach. It may also need a power/ground which isn't too difficult to find.. tap a fuse for power and use a bolt tied to the body/frame for ground.
  4. 22732

    22732 Guest

    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    manual or auto transmission had no bearing on whether the car came with a tach cluster or not. It was just an option that was available on the higher packaged escorts. (Escort LX and Tracer LS) Mines an auto and came with the tach cluster. You can find a tach cluster in a junkyard and it will be plug and play.
    copcarguy likes this.
  5. copcarguy

    copcarguy FEOA Member

    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    840
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    You car is pre wired for a tach, as said above it's as easy as finding a tach cluster and plugging it in.
  6. pcordes1979

    pcordes1979 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    278
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    When replacing the cluster, don't even worry about trying to find a car with a mileage close to yours.

    Once you acquire the tachometer cluster, simply move the speedometer module between the two clusters, as it is the same for both the tach and non-tach clusters. Simple as that, takes a matter of a few minutes to do, just need the right sized torx driver (T-15 sounds right but will have to double check). Pull the bezel off, pull the speedometer module out install the one from the stock cluster and put the bezel back on.
    Dan GSR likes this.
  7. MenaceMan47

    MenaceMan47 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    New Mexico
    PCordes is right; I did the same thing to my 99 SE 5-speed last year with a cluster out of a 99 LX. You can swap speedos between the two cluster units pretty easily. The red circles indicate the pin-out arrangements, and they are all the same between different 3rd-gen Escorts (non-zx2 models)
    Photo0651.jpg
    Use a small flathead screwdriver to gently pry the speedo unit out of both tach clusters and just swap them. Make sure the prongs are lined up in the holes before you insert your speedo into the cluster you got from a junkyard/ebay/wherever.
    Photo0648.jpg
    It's really as simple as that.
    Dan GSR, DC Ultra and copcarguy like this.
  8. DC Ultra

    DC Ultra FEOA Donator

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    178
    so does the other background material enforce the legitimacy of the mileage?
    hah. :roflmao:
  9. MenaceMan47

    MenaceMan47 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Not sure what you mean... the donor tach cluster came from a vehicle with 80K miles on it, about half of what my vehicle currently has as of today.
  10. pcordes1979

    pcordes1979 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    278
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    I think he is referring to your reloading/handloading setup that is in the background of your pictures. Meaning, he is asking are you using "force" to say that the shown mileage is the actual mileage. Jokingly of course, I think...
  11. MenaceMan47

    MenaceMan47 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    New Mexico
    It's the actual mileage of the donor vehicle only; I still have that speedo with my original cluster, but not installed in my vehicle.
  12. DC Ultra

    DC Ultra FEOA Donator

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    178
    i just found it mildly amusing that you have pics - good ones - of the cluster change on a firearms safety mat and some bullets in the background.
  13. MenaceMan47

    MenaceMan47 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    New Mexico
    What can I say? My workbench sees alot of action, be it automotive or firearm :)
  14. LariRudi

    LariRudi FEOA Donator

    Messages:
    2,341
    Likes Received:
    219
    Trophy Points:
    313
    I know you're saying that for Gen 3 it's basically "plug and play".... but did I see someplace in these forums that the 1997 is NOT plug and play? requiring moving wires and pins around?

    Just wondering....

    LarryR
  15. DC Ultra

    DC Ultra FEOA Donator

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    178
    umm... i thought they are plugnplay for the third gens? where did you read otherwise?

Share This Page