FEOA Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is a basic writeup on how to clean and set up your Windows XP system for speed, performance, and reliability at no cost to you (just a little bit of your time). As many know, I'm a computer technician by trade and I deal with things like this on a daily basis.

The suggestions below will not cause any harm to your system (provided your hardware is in good shape) but I assume no responsibility for you screwing up your computer. These are listed in no particular order and some will help more than others.

First thing's first - do your backups! Sometimes even running hardware diagnostics can push a failing system over the edge. Either back up your critical files the old-fashioned way by copy/paste, write a batch file to be run periodically which copies specified files to an external location, or utilise a backup solution such as ArcServe or Acronis or Ghost, etc.

Run hardware diagnostics. Grab a copy of the Hiren's BootCD from your favourite torrent site. I generally use Memtest86+ (for RAM) and Test Hard Disk Drive 1.0 and Spinrite (for hard drives). Spinrite is no longer included on the Hiren's disc as of v.9.3 and newer, so I recommend downloading both versions 9.2 and whatever the latest version is [currently 9.9 as of 26JUN09]. This will give you the opportunity to replace any failing hardware before it completely dies on you.

Kill startup items. Start>Run and type msconfig. Hit the Startup tab and uncheck everything but antivirus and important vendor-specific apps (such as hotkey, blutetooth, temp sensor, and printer drivers). Then, click the Services tab, place a check in the box for "Hide all Microsoft services", and then uncheck everything above except antivirus and important vendor-specific apps. Hit Apply, then OK, then reboot your machine. You should notice an immediate improvement in your startup time.