Ford zx2 2000 no spark reverse battery | Page 2 | Ford Escort Owners Association (FEOA)

Ford zx2 2000 no spark reverse battery

Discussion in 'ZX2 1998-2004 2.0L DOHC' started by Andy_dre38, Mar 23, 2017.

  1. Andy_dre38

    Andy_dre38 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes it comes on
  2. Andy_dre38

    Andy_dre38 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i still cant fix it my i had someone test the electric current it goes to coil pack but as soon as it cranks there is no power to it
  3. pextor

    pextor Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,820
    Likes Received:
    733
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Lancaster, pa
    please list everything you have replaced.
  4. Andy_dre38

    Andy_dre38 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i replaced the ecu and pcm
  5. Andy_dre38

    Andy_dre38 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    and the 100a fuse it gave power to the car but it did not spark
  6. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,817
    Likes Received:
    387
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    Those both refer to same thing.
  7. Gamer92

    Gamer92 FEOA Donator

    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    968
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Has coil been checked or replaced?

    Has crank sensor been checked?
  8. pextor

    pextor Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,820
    Likes Received:
    733
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Lancaster, pa
    What year is your car?

    what is the code/part # of the replacement computer that you put in the car?

    Did you replace the module under the airbox?
  9. Andy_dre38

    Andy_dre38 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes and the code is perfect match as old one
  10. Andy_dre38

    Andy_dre38 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes coil has power when tested but then it cuts off
  11. marclar

    marclar Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,732
    Likes Received:
    444
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    seabeck WA
    cam sensor is a sensor. it has no power running thru it. coil doesnt care about the battery, its just an output. you fried the protection diodes in your modules when you hooked up the battery wrong.

    without doing some major testing, your going to have to start replacing modules, and again check all the fuses inside and out
  12. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,817
    Likes Received:
    387
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    Um, most sensors do have power running through them, usually a 5V reference. There also aren't many modules in these cars. The only ones I'm aware of are the ECU which does the engine and transmission, a fuel pump driver module, an airbag module, and the CCRM which is hardly a module at all. On top of that these aren't CAN bus vehicles that need everything working or it won't run. OP has replaced both the ECU and CCRM which covers every module that should have to do with spark. He needs to pull codes and look at live data on a decent scan tool.
  13. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,817
    Likes Received:
    387
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    Just looked up a wiring diagram. Coil circuit has one 12V power wire that is hot when the key is in the "run" or "start" positions and two wires that the ECU grounds when it wants to fire the coil. If that wire doesn't have power when cranking then it could very well be related to the ignition switch. Since the coil has power when you are in the "run" position try to 'pop start' the car or manually trigger the starter solenoid. I bet it will start.
    bent_rod likes this.
  14. marclar

    marclar Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,732
    Likes Received:
    444
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    seabeck WA
    i apologize, i will be more specific in the future. i was refering specifically to the VR sensors. but you are correct. most inputs do have a 5 volt ref which is controlled by the pcm and is regulated via a linear voltage regulator. but this is very easily tested.

    OP needs to verify power to the coil like your saying in crank positon.
  15. Andy_dre38

    Andy_dre38 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK there is power to the coil when i checked with a probe tester and power cuts out when it is in crank position so does that mean it is just a wire?
  16. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,817
    Likes Received:
    387
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    It means the ignition switch is most likely faulty.
  17. marclar

    marclar Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,732
    Likes Received:
    444
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    seabeck WA
    put an ignition switch in it.

Share This Page