FEOA Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all Im new to this. Just wondering if I can run a y pipe to two magnaflow mufflers on my 96 lx wag. Has anyone had this done?

·
Registered
1,927 Posts
I'm pretty sure any kind of exhaust setup can be done on any kind of car, as long as there are places to put mounting brackets and such. The better question would be, is it worth doing? Admittedly, if not made to look to gaudy, dual exhaust has a very nice aesthetic appeal. If setup right, the sound would also be excellent. But IIRC, having so much exhaust piping had a negative effect on power gains, at least in the low band. Others can clarify this.

·
Registered
8,915 Posts
eh. all it will be is extra weight. the LX motor has some pretty good torque, why would you want to hurt that by lessening the backpressure with more piping?

IMO dual pipes belong on V6s and V8s. I4s (even factory like the new Sunfire) do not need them. (unless say it's an SRT-4, which doesn't even have mufflers)

·
Registered
365 Posts
aesthertics for dual mufflers.....id rather stick to a single one if only in 4 cyl......6-8-10 id go for duals....(my old chevette had a 2.8/3.1(stroked) and true dual cherrybombs and a couple of go fast goodies).....

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ok thanx all i talked to the guy at the exhaust place and he said the same thing. Also what is the loudest muffler that you can buy besides flowmaster. I was wondering if anyone knows what borla and magnaflow sound like on these motors. Thanx all again.

·
Registered
8,915 Posts
Biggins2121 said:
ok thanx all i talked to the guy at the exhaust place and he said the same thing. Also what is the loudest muffler that you can buy besides flowmaster. I was wondering if anyone knows what borla and magnaflow sound like on these motors. Thanx all again.
If you want loud, and cops like to harass people with loud exhaust, i'd advise against loud exhaust.