CHINESE MADE 1.6L CVH with a twist? | Page 3 | Ford Escort Owners Association (FEOA)

CHINESE MADE 1.6L CVH with a twist?

Discussion in '1st Gen 1981-1990 CVH' started by RustyNutzRacing, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,830
    Likes Received:
    397
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    On the EDIS Escorts the cams have a magnetic slug pressed into them.

    I believe the only differences in coil packs is the part that the plug wires clip onto it. One type is way more popular than the other.
  2. UnexplodedCow

    UnexplodedCow FEOA Member

    Messages:
    7,030
    Likes Received:
    172
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    The 3rd gens have the little tab that's machined onto the cam for EDIS.

    The cam specs Rustynutz listed are dead on clones of the 1.6L stepped cam journals, so getting an aftermarket cam is possible, although EDIS will be the deciding factor for that. I'm confident an EDIS lobe (if that's used) can be added onto the cam, or any cam.

    The Festiva from the 80's used a 1.3L Kia engine, btw...not even compatible with 1st gens, although I wonder if 2nd gens may somehow have compatibility.

    As for the coming Fiesta, it's a popular Euro car. It was more popular than the Escort, I believe, since it came with a CVH there, sometimes the same size as the Escort, but was much smaller and lighter.

    As for actual size, the new Fiesta is pretty much on par with the 1st gen Escort in terms of wheelbase, although it weighs considerably more.

    1st gen Escort
    Wheelbase: 94.2"
    Car Length: 169"
    Car width: 65.9"

    Typical curb weight ranged from 1800-2300 pounds, with the earliest 2 door models being the lightest, and the late EXP being the heaviest..yes, heavier than the wagon. My 4 door hatch originally weight 2310, but has since had some decent weight reduction...my nearest guess is weight currently near 2000.

    '10 Fiesta:
    Wheelbase: 102.9"
    Car Length: 175"
    Car Width: 67.9"

    Typical curb weight for the coupe is 2558-2617 pounds. This car is quite a bit larger than the 1st gen...it's about on par with a 3rd gen or Tempo/Topaz. It's not that small, or light.

    Typical mileage has been 24 mpg city and 34-35 highway. Honestly, that's not very good for how it's billed. But, it should be able to pull away from a 1st gen relatively easily. Still, I think our view of an "economy" car has been twisted into something that has more power and frills than needed.

    The Focus, on the other hand, looks like it uses an updated, slightly enlarge version of the 1st gen's chassis. And it's not getting that great of mileage either. I'll stick with my CFI for now if I want mileage.
  3. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    So is the cam a decent cam? What do you mean by stepped cam journals? Good thing..Bad thing?

    So I take it a 1.9L or 2.0L cam will fit this head? Don't all the 1.9L & 2.0L after like 1999 have EDIS? I've seen cams for these engines?
  4. madmatt2024

    madmatt2024 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9,830
    Likes Received:
    397
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y.
    Any 1.9/2.0 from 91 onward has EDIS.
  5. UnexplodedCow

    UnexplodedCow FEOA Member

    Messages:
    7,030
    Likes Received:
    172
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    The 1.9 and 2.0 cam journals are the same size. The 1.6 has different size journals. Stepped means they just get progressively larger going from one end to the next. Unless you have bearing shells pressed in to adapt the head to use a 1.9/2.0 cam, you'll just have to use the 1.6 cams. That's not a bad thing since you've got more options with aftermarket cams, but I don't know if those come with the necessary EDIS piece like your current cam does. That's why I suggested a regrind of it.
  6. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Regrind may be my best option at this point.
  7. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'll pull the cam out tonight and take some pics. Someone will have to post them for me.
  8. UnexplodedCow

    UnexplodedCow FEOA Member

    Messages:
    7,030
    Likes Received:
    172
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    That would be nice to see. If you can get a micrometer on a lobe at several points you can measure to the base circle and then how much lift the lobe has. Rocker arm ratio is 1.65:1, so all you have to do to find valve lift is multiply the lobe lift by 1.65. You really don't need anything over .5" lift, and benefit greatly from more duration and a little more valve overlap, although extended overlap kills vacuum and your engine will have a lumpy idle.
  9. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I don't have a micrometer....I will try and pick one up today.
  10. UnexplodedCow

    UnexplodedCow FEOA Member

    Messages:
    7,030
    Likes Received:
    172
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Micrometers and feeler gauges are essential toys, err, tools to a mechanic. I'd be lost without mine. Mitutoya is a good brand to get, and have been less expensive than other brands of micrometers. A dial gauge model is very nice, but not essential (I have a set of antique ones that just have the scale on the handle). Granted, I don't go out and buy micrometers every saturday, as they're a buy only once sort of thing. They do come in different sizes. If you've got the coin, go for a set that can be used on anything...say from 0-6". It should have extensions that come with the set to make that possible. If you want an all around one, a 0-2" model will take care of most things, except crank journals.
  11. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Bought one on the way to work this morning. It's a Cen-Tech digital. Figured for $10 bucks couldn't go wrong.

    Metric and SAE digital display
    Accurate to 0.001"
    Resolution: 0.0005"
    Fluid-resistant stainless steel frame, precision ground jaws
    On/off switch with automatic shut off
  12. 1lowscort

    1lowscort FEOA Member

    Messages:
    3,066
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    288
    Location:
    Missoula, MT
    you can e-mail me the pics again if you want to.
  13. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Great thanks.....
  14. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I sent some photos to 1lowscort for him to post.

    Cam base 31mm - lobes 37mm - Both measure the same.

    I double checked the journal measurements and they are correct. There are two numbers on the cam # 63 & # 15??? Don't know what that means.

    The intake valve is 41.32mm. Exhaust is 37 mm. I may be able to go a little bigger on the exhaust valve but I don't think I can go any bigger on the intake valve.

    I did firgure out one thing, the thing is starving for air. My TB is only 20mm and my intake to cyclinder head is only 30mm. Intake side of head is a tad under at 29.54. Looking at the intake I don't think I can really do anything to improve it the way it's designed.

    What are my options as far as intakes go? Will pretty much any CVH MFI intake work?
  15. 1lowscort

    1lowscort FEOA Member

    Messages:
    3,066
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    288
    Location:
    Missoula, MT
    I am just going to post a link to my photobucket account. There are quite a few pictures that I have now. It looks like you should just be able to use a 1st gen intake manifold with that, as long as you do a little bit of port matching. I don't recall how big our TB is, but I think it is somewhere in the neighborhood of 48mm.

    http://s104.photobucket.com/albums/m179 ... ese%20CVH/

    Also, I dig the hell out of that EDIS setup. I want one for my car. Sooo simple and will work with a standard CVH cam, with no mods needed to the cam.
  16. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    How will it work with a standard cam?
  17. 1lowscort

    1lowscort FEOA Member

    Messages:
    3,066
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    288
    Location:
    Missoula, MT
    The whole EDIS unit bolts onto the end of the head just like a distributor will. It is all external to the head.
  18. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    So all the 1.6L cams have that slot in the end of them? I guess for distributor or EDIS?

    I can tell you where to get them if your intrested. I could also find out the cost.

    Another question....looking on ebay for intakes I'm seeing a bunch of what they are calling Air Flow Meter and Mass Air Flow meter. They look like a TB. My MAF is a sensor in the intake.
  19. UnexplodedCow

    UnexplodedCow FEOA Member

    Messages:
    7,030
    Likes Received:
    172
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    All CVH cams have the drive slot for the distributor. And yes, that is a very good EDIS design, so you can use whatever 1.6 cam you like in that. Go for a race only cam and you'll up the power a bit. I wonder if those EDIS modules can be purchased by themselves.
  20. RustyNutzRacing

    RustyNutzRacing New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    That's GREAT news....so my cam issue is solved.

    Next issue is the intake, but from what I'm seeing I might have to use the Chery one or build one.

    Yes they can be bought by themselves....as you can see it's shaped like an "L" and the EDIS bolts onto the bottom and the coil pack bolts to the top.

    I can get a price for you if you like?

    Cow did you see my cam measurments above? I was wondering what the lift was on the stock cam?

Share This Page