FEOA Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
618 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, my CEL (Check Engine Light) has been coming on quite often lately, so I decided to scan the Engine Codes. Well, I came up with two error codes, 172 and 186.

I already know what they mean, and here are the definitions:

172 - Oxygen sensor not switching. system is or was lean. Single, Right or Rear HO2S.

186 - Injector pulse width longer than expected or Mass Air Flow (MAF) lower than expected.

What I need to know is, does this mean I should replace my O2 sensor? Also, which do you think would be causing EC 186? Fuel Injector or MAF Sensor?

If the problem is in the injector, what do I need to do to further diagnose the problem? (i.e. - which injector, if any, and if none at all)

Any help whatsoever would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
160 Posts
Those are good ones. Im not a mechanic, so dont take my word for anything. These are only suggestions to help you go a little further.
Is it a MAF on the lx or the VAF like the GT??? Have you made any adjustments to it at all?
If you do some research, you can replace the O2 sensor pretty cheaply. Otherwise, check the spark-plug condition. Maybe one of them has some tell-tale signs that will help you decide if one of the injectors are bad or dirty. check the condition of the spark plug wires. The metal terminals under the rubber boots get corroded sometimes....kind of a blue-green corrosion.
Im not too sure about how to check the VAF or MAF or whatever you have. Id assume its a series of resistance or voltage measurements under varying conditions. Let us know if you find anything more. Good luck!

·
Registered
618 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well I think what I'm going to do is drive around until the CEL comes back on and see what comes up after that. One of those codes may be in there from a while ago, so I cleared them out to check later.

·
Registered
8,915 Posts
FourDiceS04 said: