FEOA Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been offered a 99 ZX2 for $400 - I have never had one before bu t we are looking for a cheap, economical backup car fo my wife. It is in almost perfect cosmetic condition - no bumps rust or scratches and is clean inside and out. Mileage is 112k and it has a new set of tyres on it.

Now here is the problem - I am no mechanic and there are a couple of issues that will need to be looked at. The car was running fine until the brake pedal suddenly dropped to the floor and went floppy. After the car was towed back to the owners house, they started it and were unable to move the shifter out of park.

So here is the question - is this car worth a gamble - I trust the previous owners (they are as mechanically clueless as me) but is it worth the time and effort to try and get it back on the road. From reading posts here I understand that there may be some kind of link between the brake function and being unable to get out of park. The Brake lights work. the previouis owners also said that there was some noise from one or more of the wheels and that some of the bearings may be on the way out. How serious is this to repair?

Can anybody offer any ideas or opinions - grateful for anything :eek:)

·
Registered
516 Posts
It sounds like a couple of different problems. When the brake switch does not detect a signal the shifter will not go out of park. You can use the override to shift it into a gear. As for the brake petal falling to the floor, it could be a few different things. Either the brake booster died, brake line broke, air in the brake lines, or there could be other brake problems.

·
Registered
2,896 Posts