FEOA Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey when im in drive it feels like the idle is set way to high it wants to go.. But the idle is perfect... and when i hit the gas it sounds like a loose guard.... like a lite metal rattle... and the tranny shifts real hard sometimes.... with a loud clunk.... ive done everything i can to fix it but im not a auto tranny mechanic.. i changed the screen and fluid.... oh and once in a great while under high torque... like when im hammering on it going up a large hill right as it shifts it sounds like it goes in neutral.... then goes right back in gear...............

Any Help Will Be Great..............
95 Mercury Tracer 1.9 Auto...

· Registered
5,221 Posts
Sticky band or weak shift solenoid? I'm not a tranny expert either.

Trany work can be expensive so consider you options. I would reccommend taking your car to a REPUTABLE transmission shop. I've seen a lot of posts of people taking it to one of those "other shops" you often hear about and getting ripped real bad by them. Make sure you know who you are dealing with.

Another option, depending on how mechanically inclined you are is to get a good used transmission and install it yourself. I've heard this can be done in a weekend (never done it myself though). You can simply swap in another auto, or with a few extra parts swap in a manual. Simply putting in another auto would be the easiest thing to do.

Good luck :wink:

Matt 8)

· Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well i was hoping maybe someone had a "quick fix".. The end of October im swaping the auto for a 5 speed.... i bought a whole parts car for 200... so i have the clutch, flywheel, shifter and linkage, and trans.....

· Registered
15,186 Posts