1998 Escort aftermarket tach install | Ford Escort Owners Association (FEOA)

1998 Escort aftermarket tach install

Discussion in 'Interior Modifications' started by CR88Ranger, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. CR88Ranger

    CR88Ranger New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi everyone. I am trying to install an aftermarket tach in my girlfriend's 1998 Escort LX (3rd gen, I believe?), but I can't seem to figure out where to hook up the signal wire. Switched power, lights, and ground aren't a problem, just wondering if anyone can help me figure out where to splice the signal wire. I've spent quite some time searching the forums for an existing thread on this with no luck, so I apologize if this has been covered before. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks 8)
  2. kornleash

    kornleash New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am 199% sure you figured this out or gave up by now, but behind the cluster on the far right group of wires is a green wire with a red stripe, that is your signal wire even if youre stock cluster does not have a tacho, they wired it the same as the sport cluster, just did this last week to mine.
  3. AE Donn

    AE Donn FEOA Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Lake Forest, California
    So are you saying the I could change cluster from without a tach to one with and no wiring changes needed just a plug and play? I have 98 wagon and would like to have cluster with tach..
  4. ndlm8888

    ndlm8888 scortin daily

    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    tampa bay ,fl
    ^yes that is correct
  5. AE Donn

    AE Donn FEOA Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Lake Forest, California
    That is awesome. I have a cluster for my 95 that I never installed because of wiring. If anyone wants it let me know. 10$ +ship
  6. Tiny1995

    Tiny1995 FEOA Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I know I'm seriously late replying to this thread, but do you think that this would work for an aftermarket tach?
    My only other option at this point is to splice every wire on my EDIS until I find the right signal which just really seems like a bad idea
  7. pextor

    pextor Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,801
    Likes Received:
    728
    Trophy Points:
    413
    Location:
    Lancaster, pa
    That should be the correct wire.

Share This Page